Home > hackintosh, operating system, software > Snow Leopard on Hackintosh Guide

Snow Leopard on Hackintosh Guide

28th March 2010 – This install guide has been replaced by Snow Leopard On Hackintosh Second Method. The new install method is simpler and faster than this guide, but uses a boot CD that may not be compatible with all hardware.

Released on the 28th of August 2009, Snow Leopard is described by Apple as ‘Better.Faster.Easier.’ It’s a fairly accurate label, and once I got over my initial problem upgrading my Macbook the new operating system has been stable, fast, and a pleasure to use. The Family pack I bought from the Apple Store allows installation on five computers, so this covers my Macbook, original hackintosh, home cinema hackintosh (HTPC) and the Intel Atom server I recently built. I know the EULA doesn’t allow for installation on non Apple hardware, but I paid my £39 so I’m as legit as is currently possible.

Before I start listing the steps I took to get Snow leopard working on my original Hackintosh, it’s worth mentioning backups again. During the install I tried things that screwed up Snow Leopard and stopped it working correctly. Having a full backup meant it was easy to reinstall and restore user data. My recommendations for backup software are SuperDuper, which I bought a couple of years ago, or the excellent donation-ware Carbon Copy Cloner. If you intend to use Carbon Copy Cloner with Snow Leopard make sure you have the latest V3.3 beta 5, as I had major problems with version 3.2.1. Superduper version 2.6.1 is described as compatible with Snow Leopard, my testing has shown no problems so far.

Backups done, on with the install. I used a separate hard drive for my Snow Leopard install, and the first part is done from my existing 10.5.8 installation. There’s a great 10.6 Generic Retail Guide at Insanelymac that lists three methods of installing Snow Leopard on non Apple hardware:

  1. Chameleon bootloader with a hidden EFI partition
  2. Boot-132 Disc with a patched boot file
  3. Chameleon v2 RC1 USB bootloader with Netkas PCEFIv10.1 patched boot

It’s worth explaining a little about booting Mac OS on a hackintosh. A bootloader is required to get the process started but modern bootloaders are evolving to do much more than that. The Chameleon V2 bootloader that I use offers a graphical OS selection screen as well as the option to load required files from an Extra folder on your hard drive. In the past for Leopard I installed my required kernel extentions (kexts) into the System/Library/Extentions folder using kext helper or OSX86 tools. Every time a system update is installed the new files needed to be replaced with my older modified versions to get sound etc. working again. By using an Extra folder the bootloader will use these instead of the ones in System/Library/Extensions (S/L/E from now on) meaning you can install system updates without overwriting your kexts and other required files.

I chose the first method listed above, using the Chameleon bootloader with a hidden EFI partition. This hidden partition is automatically created whenever you format a Disk using Mac OS, below is a screengrab from Disk Utility running on my hackintosh.

Disk_Utility_hidden_partition

The partition of interest is disk2s1 on the 500.11Gb drive. This is where the bootloader creates an Extra folder, the destination for the modified kexts as well as several other files I will cover later. You could have an Extra folder on you Snow Leopard partition (snow in the image above) but I like the idea of a hidden partition that is not normally accessible.

Before listing the steps I took to get Snow Leopard working it’s worth listing my hardware. This guide works on my hardware, the principles for other similar (i.e. Intel based) systems are the same but I cannot comment on any other required files for different hardware. My system comprises:

  • Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3R motherboard
  • Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 processor
  • 4Gb Kingston DDR2 800 memory
  • Palit 9800Gt Nvidia graphics card
  • Pioneer DVR-215 SATA DVD writer

Steps for installing Snow Leopard 10.6

1. Use Disk Utility from the existing 10.5.8 installation to create a single partition on another hard drive, using the GUID partition table.

Disk_Utility_Create_Partition

Disk_Utility_Options

2. Insert your 10.6 disk. open a terminal window and type (or copy and paste) this command:

cd /Volumes/Mac\ OS\ X\ Install\ DVD/System/Installation/Packages

The backward slashes are used to allow spaces in the path. This command will take you to the installation packages, enter the this into the terminal to start the install:

open OSInstall.mpkg

Using the OSInstall.mpkg allows installation to another drive, I selected snow as shown in the images below:

Snow_Leopard_Install_1

Snow_Leopard_Install_2

Snow_Leopard_Install_3

Click Customize to select installation options

Snow_Leopard_Install_4

Once you have selected the options, complete the installation.

3. I followed the 10.6 Generic retail Guide by noob766 at Insanelymac.com for initial setup. Grab the following files first:

  • Chameleon_2.0_RC2_r640.pkg.zip
  • Chameleon_RC3_boot.zip
  • fakesmc.kext.zip
  • NullCPUPowerManagement.kext_for_snow_64.tar
  • OpenHaltRestart.kext_for_snow_64.tar
  • DSDT_Patch_Guide.zip
  • AHCIPortInjector.kext.zip
  • IOAHCIBlockStorageInjector.kext.zip
  • SleepEnabler.kext.zip

Unzip/tar the files to a folder on your desktop, then run Chameleon-2.0-RC2-r640.pkg.

Chameleon_1

Chameleon_2

Use Change Install Locations to select the Snow Leopard drive

Chameleon_3

Continue, then select Customize to choose install options as shown

Chameleon_4

Make sure the Extras and Options boxes are unticked then Install

4. Open a terminal window and type diskutil list. This is the output from my hackintosh:

diskutil_list

The Snow Leopard drive is mounted under /dev/disk2, and the EFI partition I would mount and modify is disk2s1. This may be different depending on how many hard drives are in your system, so change as necessary. Type these commands into the terminal window:

sudo -s
mkdir /Volumes/EFI
mount_hfs /dev/disk2s1 /Volumes/EFI
killall Finder

You should now have an EFI drive visible from the Finder, mine is shown here:

EFI_Finder

Before going any further it is important that we protect ownership on the EFI drive. Show Info for the EFI drive, then ensure the Ignore Ownership on this Volume box is NOT ticked.

Ignore_Ownership

5. On the EFI drive are two things, a boot file and an Extra folder. Replace the boot file with the one we downloaded from Insanelymac earlier, the file was called Chameleon_RC3_boot.zip. Then copy into Extra/Extension all the kexts downloaded earlier.

6. Some other files need to go into the Extra folder, depending on how you are patching your install for sound/GFX/ethernet. I use a modified com.apple.Boot.plist file for graphics and ethernet under 10.5.8, so I copied this into the Extra folder on the EFI drive. A dsdt.aml file is recommended which is patched to fix a bug in Snow Leopard that corrupts your motherboard CMOS. Many guides already exist for this, such as the ones at Infinitemac (step3) or Insanelymac. I used the iaslme tool downloaded from mediafire to decompile the dsdt.aml file from my 10.5.8 install, fix the bug in textedit then compile the new dsdt.aml. It’s fairly straightforward, I will write a guide if requested. While I was fixing the CMOS bug I also patched the dsdt file for sound from the 889a audio on my motherboard following the guide by aschar1 at Insanelymac. The 889a.kext from the guide was added to the EFI Extra/Extentions folder.

7. I also copied the AppleSMBIOS.kext to the Extra folder since I had a problem under 10.5.8 with iMovie/iDvd using disk images. There are guides at the usual forums on editing this file to correctly recognise certain hardware. Another file recommended in some guides (and missing from others) is PlatformUUID.kext. I’m not sure if this is required or not, but I edited both AppleSMBIOS.kext and PlatformUUID.kext to contain the correct Universal Unique Identifier. To do this, open Disk Image, select the Snow Leopard drive and click Info. The Universal Unique Identifier is in the list as shown:

Snow_Info

Copy your UUI then right click on AppleSMBIOS.kext and select Show Package Contents. In the Contents folder is an info.plist file that can be edited with textedit. Search for UUID-key as shown below and replace the characters between <string> and </string> with your UUI.

<key>UUID-key</key>
<string>9476A090-BBAB-3DB0-89A8-8A8819CD80B0</string>

Save the file and repeat for PlatformUUID.kext searching for <key>PlatformUUID</key> this time.

8. At this point I had the EFI drive ready for use, the contents of the drive looked like this:

EFI_drive_contents

I recommend making a backup of all the files in the EFI drive for security, then unmount the EFI drive and remove the /Volumes/EFI folder using

umount -f /Volumes/EFI
rm -rf /Volumes/EFI
killall Finder

Reboot the system and select the snow Leopard Drive. You should see the Chameleon bootloader screen, select the Snow Leopard drive and allow to boot. There are differing opinions on using flags on first boot, many people recommend using -x32 to force 32 bit mode. I didn’t use these and have seen no problems from not doing so but your requirements may vary.

The Mac OS setup wizard runs on first boot as usual, My first mistake was to import my user account and applications from 10.5.8. After much testing I found the user account was fine to import either during initial setup or using the Migration Assistant. The applications caused ethernet to stop working so I have now reinstalled my required apps and used this as an opportunity to not install those that don’t get used.

By using the hidden EFI method you can erase your Snow Leopard drive and reinstall the OS, and the boot files/kexts are still in the EFI partition. I have also upgraded to 10.6.1 using the downloaded installer and have had no problem so far.

9. Just a couple of things to do once Snow Leopard is running. I could not get sleep to work, so thanks to KELVIN88 in the Insanelymac forums for reminding me to select ‘Start up automatically after a power failure’ in the Energy Saver System Preferences pane.

Energy_Saver

The other issue I have found was an error message when using Disk Utility to repair permissions on the Snow Leopard drive. The message

Error: No installer packages can be found for this disk

was fixed by reinstalling the BSD.pkg on the Snow Leopard disk from Snow Leopard. This package is in the same directory as the OSInstall.mpkg used to install Snow Leopard earlier in the guide, so follow those instructions.

Snow Leopard has so far been very well behaved on my Hackintosh, so the next step it to install on the other two machines. The HTPC is mostly used for running the Plex media centre which currently has some issues with Snow Leopard, so that install is on hold until Plex is updated. The Atom server hard drive contains all my shared files so I am looking to upgrade that drive. I use the Carbonite backup service and so far have 42Gb backed up off site so I’m not risking a fresh install being seen as containing new files. It took 10 days to backup 42Gb so I really don’t want to do that again. Another post will be made once that is done.

Please leave a comment if you find any errors or typo’s in this guide, it took around four hours to write so I’m off for a rest. Happy hackintoshing.

  1. Martin
    September 13, 2009 at 4:48 pm

    Thanks Steve, appreciated!

  2. Derron
    September 15, 2009 at 1:26 am

    Thanks! Very thorough and understandable.

    Which version of the P35C-DS3R are you running? I’m running v1.1 with BIOS F12. If yours is the same, do you mind sharing your working DSDT file?

  3. basshead
    September 16, 2009 at 8:53 am

    My Motherboard says it’s V2.1, so you are best compiling a DSDT to suit your board. I have used the DSDTgui tool from pcwizcomputer in the past, this works great under Leopard but I haven’t tried it on Snow Leopard yet.

  4. hootcho
    September 17, 2009 at 1:17 pm

    Hey man …. this guide is simply fantastic! So well written and accurate! I guess i’ll try it since incidentally we got almost the same hw, as MB i have a P35-DS3P which is more or less the same as yours.
    I have a question about graphics card: i’m going to swap my 2600 pro PCIe with a 9800GT just like yours, did you have problems with QE/CI? How did you manage it? EFI strings?
    Thanks in advance!
    Hootcho

  5. Derron
    September 17, 2009 at 7:48 pm

    Thanks, basshead. I’ll try the DSDTgui tool.

  6. ArrGrr
    September 17, 2009 at 9:16 pm

    Thanks for the great guide! This is incredible help for me (like your previous guides) as I have almost the exact same hardware (same mobo rev2.1, same cpu, same amount of RAM, even had a 9800gt until it died last week). More info about making the DSDT file would be appreciated, as I am totally lost on the subject and,like Derron, am tempted to ask you for a copy of the file you used successfully (as I´m running more or less the exact same hardware).

    Anyway, the guides are great, as are your posts on how you go about updating your hackintosh.

  7. Martin
    September 19, 2009 at 4:21 pm

    Hi Steve,

    A few points that maybe you want to add to your guide.

    1) I thought it was strange that you started the Chameleon install before finishing your Snow Leopard install, but I thought this was intentional. Only a day later do I suspect that we are suppose to click “Install” after “Click Customize to select installation options” (after step 2)

    2) In Step 3, Chameleon install, you install to your Snow partition. However, isn’t it supposed to be targeted at the EFI partition? Selecting Chameleon Standard didn’t result in the EFI partition being mountable by me after, I got:

    mount_hfs /dev/disk2s1 /Volumes/EFI <<<< This fails – mount_hfs: Invalid argument, even after reformatting the drive.

    Googling led me to:

    http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/lofiversion/index.php/t145729.html

    "I believe your EFI partition is blank at the moment (ie, unused) and that explains everything."

    http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=127330
    5) diskutil eraseVolume "HFS+" "EFI" /dev/diskXs1 – now, be *VERY* sure this is the correct drive. this will format the EFI partition as HFS+. (NB After erasing it will try to mount it, but will fail with "Could not mount disk0s1 with name after erase". Ignore this).

    sudo diskutil eraseVolume "HFS+" "EFI" /dev/disk1s1
    Could not unmount disk for making it bootable
    Error with erase: Could not unmount disk (-10000)
    [ + 0%..10%..20%..30%..40%..50%..60%..70%..80%..90%..100% ]
    Finished erase on disk disk1s1

    After about an hour I gave up googling alternatives and I mounted it, and formatted using the exact same process, using my wife's SL based MacBook, which worked fine.
    After I unmounted and reconnected to my MBP it mounted again.

    From here I was able to mount the EFI partition as HFS+ and rerun Chameleon with the EFI partition instead of the Snow partition as target.

    Where you say:

    5. On the EFI drive are two things, a boot file and an Extra folder. Replace the boot file with the one we downloaded from Insanelymac earlier, the file was called Chameleon_RC3_boot.zip. Then copy into Extra/Extension all the kexts downloaded earlier.

    I couldn't replace the boot file until I deleted the invisible one placed there first. (I used the command line, but I could have shown hidden files in finder)

    The extensions folder already contained the following, which I left:

    drwxr-xr-x 3 root wheel 102 25 Jul 15:16 AHCIPortInjector.kext
    drwxr-xr-x 3 root wheel 102 25 Jul 15:16 ATAPortInjector.kext
    drwxr-xr-x 3 root wheel 102 25 Jul 15:16 Disabler.kext
    drwxr-xr-x 3 root wheel 102 25 Jul 15:16 IOAHCIBlockStorageInjector.kext << replaced
    drwxr-xr-x 3 root wheel 102 25 Jul 15:16 JMicronATAInjector.kext

    After I installed (using Finder, cp didn't work) and "sudo chown -R root *" this looked like:
    drwxr-xr-x 3 root wheel 102 25 Jul 15:16 AHCIPortInjector.kext
    drwxr-xr-x 3 root wheel 102 25 Jul 15:16 ATAPortInjector.kext
    drwxr-xr-x 3 root wheel 102 25 Jul 15:16 Disabler.kext
    drwxr-xr-x@ 3 root wheel 102 19 Sep 11:45 IOAHCIBlockStorageInjector.kext
    drwxr-xr-x 3 root wheel 102 25 Jul 15:16 JMicronATAInjector.kext
    drwxr-xr-x@ 3 root wheel 102 19 Sep 11:45 NullCPUPowerManagement.kext
    drwxr-xr-x@ 3 root wheel 102 19 Sep 11:45 OpenHaltRestart.kext
    drwxr-xr-x@ 3 root wheel 102 19 Sep 11:45 SleepEnabler.kext
    drwxr-xr-x@ 3 root wheel 102 19 Sep 11:45 fakesmc.kext

    I'm at Step 6 now, and am working on a new disk which I will install into my server at home. Had I read the instructions fully I'd have realised that I should have brought my S/L/E folder from my Kalyway install so to copy my com.apple.Boot.plist file and my dsdt.aml file.

    Step 6 is actually many steps – for clarity it would be helpful to split it up.

    Eventually one has to work on the target machine because the UUID etc is needed. Also, my hardware is not quite the same, I have: Gigabyte GA-P35C-DS3R (v1.1) and a XFX 7600 GT 256M PCI-E

    I hope my comments are helpful!

    Best,
    Martin.

  8. Martin
    September 19, 2009 at 5:46 pm

    Further point: users may get “Install Failed” if they don’t select the same set of options in Step 2.

  9. basshead
    September 19, 2009 at 6:00 pm

    Hi Martin

    Before I address the points you raised, who’s Steve? My name is Paul, so Basshead or Paul is fine. Not sure where you got Steve from, but he’s busy running Apple 😉

    On to the points:

    1. I didn’t end the Snow Leopard installation step with ‘Click Install’ because this isn’t intended as a guide that lists every button click. No subsequent part of the guide says ‘Click Install’ so I thought this was not necessary. The step is intended to show where to install to, and what installation options are available. Since it appears to have caused confusion I will add a ‘complete the installation’ instruction.

    2. If you look at the screenshots of the chameleon installer, you can’t select an EFI partition as it isn’t mounted or visible. If the EFI partitions were shown there would be three of them in the guide, one for HD, Video and snow as Mac OS creates the EFI partition automatically. Selecting the snow partition as a destination for chameleon actually installs to the EFI partition before the snow partition, this has worked fine for me several times. I have used Chameleon Standard and Chameleon HFS and both have worked. I’m not clear on the difference at the moment, this is one of the many areas I am still learning.

    I think I saw a mention of the ‘Invalid argument’ error on Insanelymac, I got this at one point but unfortunately can’t remember what I did to get around it. Did you untick the ‘Ignore ownership on this volume’ box? Worth another search of Insanelymac, I vaguely remember there being a fix or explanation mentioned.

    You may have to use the terminal to delete files put on the EFI partition by chameleon. I didn’t go into every last detail about this as the guide would be twice as long and would have taken 8 hours to write instead of 4. Also, a certain level of knowledge is required to install on a hackintosh and basic terminal is something I consider essential knowledge.

    After installing chameleon my Extentions folder was empty. The extentions you ended up are not needed, I think these are for Leopard so may not work with Snow Leopard. If you look at the final chameleon screenshot of step 3 it shows the Extras option is not selected, this is the one that installs the kexts you have. The screenshots were shown as a guide to what needs to be selected. I also have a screenshot in step 8 that shows my kexts, some of those you have are not in the screenshot so are not part of my install method.

    3. Step 1 starts with using an existing Leopard install (10.5.8 in my case) to install Snow Leopard to another hard drive. That means I still had my 10.5.8 install to go back to for certain files I used on Snow Leopard. I strongly recommend reading any guide through several times so you have everything needed before starting and a good grasp of the steps. If you are not following the guide exactly you need to investigate what extra steps will be needed. I suggest a search of forums such as Insanelymac or Infinitemac for available guides, I read several before starting my install to decide which method I preferred, and also which method looked to be the most promising.

    I’m not sure how important the UUID change is, there still appears to be differing opinions of this. It’s not necessary to be booted into Snow Leopard to change the UUID in the PlatformUUID.kext and AppleSMBIOS.kext packages, this can be done from the existing Leopard installation. Disk Utility will still show the UUID for the Snow Leopard partition.

    Since writing this guide I have made some further discoveries such as removing the AppleSMBIOS.kext didn’t appear to make any difference. When I get a chance I will write a follow up about the small problems and fixes I have since found.

    Please treat this guide only as a starting point, I’m certainly no expert on the hackintosh and one of the reasons I write this blog is so I have a record of what I have done in the past. As mentioned in the guide, any variation in hardware may require different steps to get Snow Leopard working

    Hope this has helped

    Basshead

  10. Martin
    September 19, 2009 at 7:48 pm

    Thanks Paul 😉

    I also read the blog of http://www.solobasssteve.com/ and, although I know you and two and your blogs are different, mixed you up!

    Thanks for the detailed reply, appreciated. I’ll adjust my install accordingly. I’m very comfortable on the command line.

    In retrospect I went around the loop several times – and because I never completed the install Snow Leopard – the EFI partition never became ready to be mounted. Because I’d read that SL doesn’t actually use the EFI partition I assumed that it was Chameleon, rather than SL, that formatted it.

    I suppose Chameleon, not seeing the EFI partition formatted it wrote its files to my SL partition.

    In terms of kexts, it would be great if Chameleon had a way to select what motherboard and other hardward it was being used for, and just did “the right thing”.

    I’m sure that will come.

    In the meantime, thanks, Basshead, for your posts, and your detailed followup.

    PS. “Make sure the Extras and Options boxes are unticked then Install” might be better as “Make sure the Extras and Options boxes are unticked then click Install” (as there is a “Standard Install” button on the UI as well.)

    Best,
    Martin.

  11. Stra
    October 5, 2009 at 4:49 pm

    Gigabyte P35-DS3R here with an 8800GT. Mine gets stuck on ‘Waiting for boot volume with UUID….’ on a 1.5TB SATA Seagate. Any ideas? Followed your guide and others to the letter.

    Thanks
    Stra

  12. thom
    October 7, 2009 at 8:12 pm

    hi paul thanks for your great tutorial. its the best one i’ve seen and conveniently suits my hardware but i’m having a few teething troubles.

    as i dont have a pc with working leopard install i’m trying to run this procedure from a macbook pro to create a bootable SL drive (using a usb enclosure) to put into my PC which has essentially the same spec as yours apart from a 512mb 8600GT.

    I have become stuck at the point where i run the chameleon app after SL installation. If I run chameleon from within my macbook’s SL install it fails to complete, crashing out at the ‘moving files’ stage. chameleon runs if booting the new external SL install but I guess that it would not boot if i was trying to do this from a hack.

    Is there any reason why this shouldn’t work when run from another SL installation, or more to the point am i missing something and should the question be “Is there any reason why it should?”

    best,

    thom

  13. thom
    October 7, 2009 at 8:15 pm

    forgot to check ‘notify of follow ups’

  14. basshead
    October 14, 2009 at 6:40 pm

    In Reply to Stra, I have seen mention of problems with Leopard/Snow Leopard on a partition larger than one gigabyte. The solution suggested was to create two partitions, one under a gigabyte for the OS and the rest as a second partition for whatever you want.

    Thom, I haven’t tried installing Chameleon to an external drive from my Macbook so I can’t help much with your problem. If I get time I will have a go and post the result.

  15. Adam
    October 16, 2009 at 8:06 pm

    Hey Paul,

    This write up is so clean and easy to follow, thanks so much for posting it. I feel like I’m so close to getting this to work, but I’m struggling with mounting my EFI. I’ve searched all over Insanelymac and only end up getting more and more confused. This is my terminal output:

    Last login: Fri Oct 16 14:44:05 on ttys002
    adam-sharpes-macbook-pro-17:~ adamsharpe$ fsck_hfs /dev/disk2s1
    ** /dev/rdisk2s1
    adam-sharpes-macbook-pro-17:~ adamsharpe$ sudo -s
    bash-3.2# mkdir /Volumes/EFI
    mkdir: /Volumes/EFI: File exists
    bash-3.2# mount_hfs /dev/disk2s1 /Volumes/EFI
    mount_hfs: Invalid argument
    bash-3.2# fsck_hfs /dev/disk2s1
    ** /dev/rdisk2s1
    bash-3.2# mount_hfs /dev/disk2s1 /Volumes/EFI
    mount_hfs: Invalid argument
    bash-3.2#

    Any advice on getting this darned thing to mount so I can finish my install?

  16. CB
    October 26, 2009 at 2:02 pm

    Just wondered for this guide to work on my PC i will need OSX Leopard as well as Snow Leopard, i have never used Apple before

  17. Jan Persson
    October 26, 2009 at 10:07 pm

    I also had problem mounting the darn EFI partition. Regardless of what I tried it always came back with the annoying “mount_hfs: Invalid argument”.

    Now I’ve found the reason. The partition is for some unknown reason not formatted but even using ‘diskutil eraseVolume’ did not help:

    Could not unmount disk for making it bootable
    Error with erase: Could not unmount disk (-10000)

    The solution is simple. Just format it with the following command:

    newfs_hfs -v EFI /dev/diskXsY

    (where X and Y has to change to your specific values to point out the EFI partition in question)

  18. Charles
    December 26, 2009 at 11:19 am

    Hi Paul — I must add my thanks for a very clear and helpful guide. I have been running vanilla Leopard on my GA-EP35-DS4 system, following a guide that provide a script to install needed kexts. But I have never had any luck installing Snow Leopard, following various guides. So I tried yours, with a dsdt.aml from AsereBLN on the EFI-X Users forum for my motherboard and BIOs version. I used a com.apple.Boot.plist, but I didn’t use an AppleSMBIOS.kext or a modified PlatformUUID.kext.

    All went well until the reboot of the Snow installation, where I consistently get kernel panics during the boot process. I used -v -f but the boot message ascroll so fast that I’m not sure where it got up to. I did see a lot of message about kext loading. The kernel panic window showed:

    panic(cpu0 caller 0xffffff8002cbf74): ….. type 14=page fault

    I googled this error a bit and saw one post from a guy who got that fault related to JMicronATA, but other aspects of his panic were more specific than mine. I know this is probably an ill-defined problem, but can you suggest where I could start looking for a solution?

    Regards,
    Charles

  19. izedtech
    January 14, 2010 at 1:42 pm

    Hi I am trying to get the “restart after power failure” which doesn’t show in 10.6.

  20. Jay
    January 26, 2010 at 11:35 pm

    Paul, great guide as always (I’ve read your hackintosh posts since I first got in to it).

    I’m having quite a bit of trouble getting my audio to work though. I’ve got the same MB (earlier rev though, 1.1) and the ALC889a audio. I tried following the guide on insanelymac you linked to but no luck. There is no “Name (BUFA, ResourceTemplate ()” line in my DSDT … I have a Device (HDEF) section, but it is at the very end of the DSDT. I tried just pasting in the code from the insanelymac guide all the way to the end (adding a few ‘}’ to avoid syntax errors) but that didn’t work either.

    Would the DSDT be that different for 1.1 and 2.1 even though we have the same ALC889a? Or maybe I’m cutting off something at the end … I really have no idea here as I feel a little out of my league editing the DSDT.

    Any help or suggestions you could give would be a big help.

  21. Mike Kliem
    February 7, 2010 at 1:02 am

    Thanks.
    But when I try to mount the efi partition with this command
    sudo -s

    mount_hfs /dev/disk1s1 /Volume/EFI I receive this error
    mount_hfs:permission denied
    What am I doing wrong?

  22. Kervs
    February 23, 2010 at 9:51 am

    Got stuck at the terminal point where there was an “invalid argument”. As there is not reply to solve this problem this tuitorial has proved pointless for me after many retries. I hope it works for others.

  23. Vince
    February 25, 2010 at 6:41 pm

    Belatedly to Stra (but hopefully useful for future visitors):

    “Gigabyte P35-DS3R here with an 8800GT. Mine gets stuck on ‘Waiting for boot volume with UUID….’ on a 1.5TB SATA Seagate. Any ideas?”

    Try changing your BIOS setting for SATA to Native SATA (or ACHI or just SATA) as opposed to IDE emulation. This is what worked for me.

  24. Ken
    April 22, 2010 at 2:04 am

    Hi all. I decided to buy a Window laptop which has i5 processor. 4gb of ram.

    Can I know which laptop would you recommend to make my laptop hackintosh dual boot with window 7.

    What else must I look out when buying the laptop ? specs i mean. The purpose for installing mac os because I need logic pro to work it. That’s all. Other than that. Nothing because I use windows for most of my everyday use . But you never know that I will get hook up using mac os.

    I have a few question.

    Does the laptop keyboard works? Like apple c to copy ? All those shortcut keys. How can I use that with the new laptop that I’m planning to buy? Meaning I’ve to do control c on hackintosh?

    I heard audio don’t work at times as well as wifi. Is there any fix? I have a copy of osx retail DVD. Fine with it?

    And also what about the drivers? Where can I find for hackintosh? I’m confused but thanks again.

    I must have a Sata drive too? Hope you guys can find me a good laptop. Ard 1k. I do audio and video editing . Thanks!

  25. Hai Nguyen
    April 23, 2010 at 6:12 am

    Thanks for your guide. However all guides require a MAC to work on, but I don’t have any. Is there anyway we could make a new ISO on PC?

  26. Kim
    August 22, 2010 at 12:36 am

    hi…

    i have tried to install mac os x on my pc. but it fails everytime…
    here’s my setup.

    Intel Core 2 Quad 2.66 Ghz
    Asus Striker Extreme
    Asus Geforce ENGTX 285
    8 Gb corsair Ram
    500 Gb Western digital HDD
    640 Gb hitachi HDD
    Dvd-rw
    850 Watt PSU

    What can i dó….
    i want mac os on my pc ❤

  27. G Venkatesan
    September 6, 2010 at 10:29 am

    Hi,

    Please help me to Install Mac on my PC (Intel Atom processor 1.6 Ghz / 1 GB RAM / 250GB HDD )

  28. October 30, 2010 at 2:37 pm

    I have installed on my pc, and succes. but when I restarted i get blank screen.

  29. Knob Turner
    November 28, 2010 at 8:06 pm

    those getting the invalid argument error with the mount_hfs command, type this into your Terminal window before mkdir /Volumes/EFI and it should fix the problem:

    fsck_hfs /dev/diskXs1

  30. raj
    November 30, 2010 at 6:26 pm

    i want to install Apple Mac OS X Snow Leopard 10.6 on my laptop (hp dv6)but i want to remove windows 7 from it please help
    please tell where can i get my device drivers for my laptop on thesame

  31. Dude Virus
    December 25, 2010 at 6:18 pm

    Hi Paul

    Thanks for the amazing explanation regarding the steps to install.. I also read your second method.

    The major question is will snow leopard work on my amd machine… i have a fully functional 10.5.8

    Specs as folows:-

    AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition3.4 GHZ
    ASUS M4A78T-E
    Corsair DDR# 1333 MHZ
    SATA HDD
    Onboard ATI HD 3300

  32. Jason Kiwah
    March 6, 2011 at 12:49 pm

    HI i recently installed snow leopard 10.6.6i by hazard on my amd computer it booted so well but i have two problems 1 -drives from pc cant be read NTF format i down loaded macfuse installed it ,but still cant be seen .2 some softwares cant be installed like ikmulmedia products any can be installed but cant be opened.What should i do? please help

  33. Jesse
    April 5, 2011 at 8:13 pm

    I would like to install snow leopard on my g5 desktop. But of course it will only run on machines with Intel processors. My biggest issue is that I enjoy using my Macs, but I am not a technical expert. But I am the ( I’ve got to try this trial and error type of Person ). For instance, I won’t try some of this stuff because I don’t have a clue what Hackintosh is or how to get it.

  34. April 10, 2014 at 4:58 pm

    Quality articles is the crucial to interest the people to pay a quick visit
    the website, that’s what this website is providing.

  35. July 27, 2014 at 3:08 pm

    I am not sure where you’re getting your info, but great topic.
    I needs too spend some time learning much more or
    understanding more. Thanks for grsat info I was looking for this information for my
    mission.

  36. September 6, 2014 at 10:16 pm

    Howdy very cool site!! Guy .. Beautiful .. Wonderful .. I’ll bookmark your blog and take
    the feeds also? I’m satisfied to find a lot of helpful inforfmation right
    here within the publish, we want develop more techniques on this regard,
    thank you for sharing. . . . . .

  37. September 21, 2014 at 5:47 am

    I like what you guys are up too. This kind oof clever work and reporting!
    Keep up the grwat wirks guys I’ve included you guys to my
    personal blogroll.

  38. abbakdaype
    July 5, 2019 at 9:48 am

    test

  1. October 24, 2009 at 3:15 pm
  2. November 11, 2009 at 3:27 pm
  3. January 23, 2010 at 11:23 am
  4. June 3, 2010 at 1:17 am
  5. September 10, 2010 at 7:32 pm
  6. March 27, 2014 at 8:07 pm
  7. March 28, 2014 at 10:51 am

Leave a comment