Home > hackintosh, operating system, software > Buying Lion on a Hackintosh

Buying Lion on a Hackintosh


After the changes made upgrading my P35-DS3R/Q6600 hackintosh to 10.6.8, I expected downloading Mac OS 10.7 to be a breeze. It appears that the App store application has some built in checks that block the purchase/download on unsupported hardware. My first response was to try some different smbios.plist files, including the widely suggested MacPro 3,1 type, then try editing these. None of those attempts gave any success, so the next step was a search for suggestions from the many excellent Hackintosh forums.

One method I found was to install the latest version of Tonymac86’s Chimera bootloader, V1.4.1. This is available from the Tonymac86 site as either a standalone installer or part of the MultiBeast package. The Lion purchase/download then worked perfectly. I had some unexpected side effects as well, such as losing my VPN configuration and being unable to get it working again. I searched for reasons for this and suspect it was something to do with changes to the Ethernet port en0 setup. The easiest and fastest fix was to copy the Lion installer to my server and restore the disk to the backup I had made just before installing Chimera, finally copying the Lion Installer back again. I always repeat how important it is to make a backup before any big changes to a hackintosh installation, and once again it saved me a lot of time and effort.

This ended up being a lot of effort to buy and download Lion. I’ve always felt it’s important to buy the software even if I’m not within the terms of the EULA by running it on generic hardware. At £20.99/$29.99 it’s very cheap compared to the cost up upgrading a Windows system, and rampant piracy within the hackintosh community will not encourage Apple to continue to ignore us as it has done so far. Also, I already save a huge amount running Mac OS on generic hardware, saving £21 more seems as petty.

  1. August 31, 2011 at 6:22 am

    its so cool, the app store says lion is already installed. i can even leave a review, even though i never purchased it.

  2. herogreat
    September 7, 2011 at 7:24 am

    Anyone out there who has kind hearted on how to update my OS X Snow Leopard 6 on my aspire one ZG5..

    Help please!!!!!

    Thanks Basshead for your good tip on making zg5 into a snow leopard

  3. December 5, 2011 at 9:39 pm

    MANY HACKINTOSH HELP HERE: http://iatkos.tk

  4. subduedjoy
    December 11, 2011 at 10:07 am

    I too will be buying Apple’s OS software. Almost all the software on my laptop is freeware or shareware. I don’t want to take the chance of getting sued for enormous amounts of money for just one software product that costs only $30. My reason for going the hachintosh route is that I already have a very expensive VAIO that meets Apple’s requirements and I need xCode, which runs only on Mac OS (without hacking). It doesn’t make sense for me to buy a whole new, expensive laptop just because Apple 1) only makes xCode for the Mac and 2) doesn’t want people to run its OS on non-Apple machines.

  5. July 12, 2014 at 9:10 am

    My brother suggested I might like this blog. He was entirely right.
    This post truly made my day. You can not imagine simply how much time
    I had spent for this info! Thanks!

  6. July 19, 2014 at 1:38 am

    I blog frequently and I really appreciate your information. The article has truly peaked my interest.
    I’m going to take a note of your blog and keep checking
    for new details about once per week. I subscribed to
    your RSS feed as well.

  7. Seo
    September 20, 2014 at 2:56 pm

    Hey there, You have done a fantastic job. I’ll certainly digg it and personally recommend to my friends. I am confident they will be benefited from this website.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment