Home > apple, hackintosh, macintosh, operating system, software > 10.5.6 on Hackintosh

10.5.6 on Hackintosh

1056

The latest update to Mac OS Leopard is now out, and 10.5.6 looks so far to be working fine on my hackintosh. I installed Leopard using the Chameleon/Boot132 method a while back which allows the use of Software Update for OS upgrades. This time around the update installed just as it would on any other Mac, a couple of restarts and the system was up and running again. Apple have an article listing all the fixes and changes for anyone interested.

As usual, I strongly recommend making a backup before the upgrade, especially for hackintosh users. SuperDuper has been suffering a problem recently on my system so I’m back to using the excellent (and free) Carbon Copy Cloner.

UPDATE While the install was painless the results since have been less than smooth. I expected to copy some kext’s from my backup to get audio and the basics (reboot, sleep etc) working, but even with these the hackintosh would not sleep correctly. Every time I tried waking from sleep the system rebooted, so for now it’s back to to 10.5.5 using Carbon Copy Cloner to restore from the backup.

  1. Chris
    December 17, 2008 at 1:09 pm

    When you clone your system with CCC or SuperDuper, those softwares clone also your boot sectors?
    I have tried with Super Duper but my copy does not start. I needed to reinstall Chameleon. I’ll try with CCC.

  2. SpyBoyCH
    December 22, 2008 at 5:18 am

    Hey There Basshead,

    I’ve been keeping up with your hackintosh posts and used your method, but a different bootloader to get mine going (different MB [gigabyte ep45-ud3p]). Anyway, I have not yet updated to 10.5.6, but I saw your post and then your update and was wondering if you had seen this link and if people who used your method need to do any of the things netkas describes in the post. I’m a noob when it comes to the hackintosh so I was hoping you could shed some light on this.

    link to netkas.org post on preparing for 10.5.6:
    http://netkas.org/?p=78

    thanks for your excellent step by steps, happy holidays, and peace,
    SpyBoyCH

  3. basshead
    December 22, 2008 at 8:33 am

    Hi SpyBoyCH
    Things have been a bit hectic here the past few weeks so I’ve been struggling to keep up with news. I’m still trying to get the Mac VM comparison finished that was started in November.
    I had a quick read of the post on netkas blog, then followed the link in one of the comments to the PCwizcomputer site at

    http://pcwizcomputer.com/index.php?option=com_frontpage&Itemid=1

    They have some nice GUI software to patch your 10.5.5 install before upgrading to 10.5.6, and also a tool to do all the post install patching in one easy step. I’m working long days at the moment so there will hopefully be time before 25th to try this out. If It works as well as it looks I will write up a guide for the site.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

