Home > apple, backup, computer, hackintosh, software > 10.5.3 hackintosh problems

10.5.3 hackintosh problems

I had a try at upgrading my hackintosh earlier today using the Kalyway 10.5.3 combo update followed by the Kalyway 10.5.3 kernel update. All looked good until I tried using spaces which jerked about horribly. A look at the System Profiler shows Core Image running in software and no Quartz Extreme. Looks like the install screwed the display drivers. Lots of hackintosh owners are having the same problem over at OSX86, so it’s time to trawl the forums until someone figures out a fix. It’s time like this I’m glad I backed everything up before the upgrade.

  1. May 30, 2008 at 11:10 pm

    I think Kaly mentioned in the notes that some video cards have issue – what are you running now again? My hack has a 512MB 7950GT in it, which barely works ( takes ages to boot ) so much so that I’m thinking of getting a hopefully much better supported 8800GT.

  2. basshead
    May 31, 2008 at 8:45 am

    I’m using a 256Mb GT7300. I tried several methods of getting it working under 10.5.3 with no joy yet, so I’ve restored to 10.5.2 and will try again using them individually from a working install to see what works.

  3. mic mac
    June 2, 2008 at 9:15 am

    Yeah I had the exact same prblem its really annoying! can someone please come up with a fix for it! My graphics card is a Nvidia GeForce 7300GT 512MB and it was working perfectly in 10.5.2 but not in 10.5.3 đŸ˜¦

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment