Home > macintosh, software > Forcing Macintosh Apps Fullscreen

Forcing Macintosh Apps Fullscreen

I use a 20 inch widescreen LCD with my hackintosh, and one of the things that irritates me is the amount of space I lose for the menu bar and dock. Hiding the dock saves space but it’s hidden on all screens when using Spaces, so I have it always shown on the left side of the screen. What I wanted was a way to force apps to go fullscreen like the built in ability of Adobe Lightroom.

PresentYourApps

PresentYourApps is the best solution I have found so far, enabling each app to have its own settings for removing or hiding the dock and menubar. This piece of donationware from Eternal Storms Software can apply a setting for any open app, and although the web site only says it’s Leopard compatible it appears to work fine under Snow Leopard. It doesn’t hide the window’s title bar (the top part with the window description and three minimise/maximise/close buttons), but I use the ‘Hide Menu Bar and Dock’ setting so hitting the top of the screen with the mouse cursor causes the menu bar to pop down over this. Similarly, my dock pops out of the left side of the screen. Switching to a different screen using Spaces returns the dock and Menu Bar to visible. I can now use iMovie with very little lost space on screen, and Firefox fullscreen is great for Google Maps.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. October 20, 2009 at 9:27 pm

Leave a Reply

