Home > apple, hackintosh, macintosh, operating system, software > 10.5.8 on Hackintosh

10.5.8 on Hackintosh

Snow_Leopard_BoxSnow Leopard is released today which means the focus of the hackintosh scene will quickly shift to the latest release. I picked up my Copy of the Snow Leopard Family Pack on the way home from work today and will by attempting a hackintosh install over the weekend, as a fresh install. My three hackintosh’s will be staying as they are until all the bugs are ironed out and Snow leopard is stable on non-Apple hardware.

My main Hackintosh, based on a Gigabyte P32-DS3R motherboard and Intel Core 2 Quad 6600 processor, is running 10.5.8. I had a problem with sleep not resuming after the install, but a quick search of Insanelymac.com showed a perfect fix by deleting disabler.kext and IntelCPUPMDisabler.kext from the Extensions folder. The same didn’t work with my newest Intel Atom server Hackintosh, in the limited time I have had over the past two weeks I haven’t found a fix yet. The HThackintosh hasn’t been attempted yet, as this and the server are not routinely web browsing or doing any other risky activity. Also, by the time the eighth point update to an Apple OS is released the urgency to upgrade is wearing off. These machines may stay at 10.5.7 until the Snow Leopard on Hackintosh guides are well tested.

As I always say, don’t forget to make a backup before upgrading any system, Apple or not, to Snow Leopard. My Macbook is currently being backed up to an external USB drive using the excellent Carbon Copy Cloner, as soon as I have the option to restore to Leopard from a backup the newest big cat will be going on as an upgrade.

  1. Martin
    August 31, 2009 at 12:22 pm

    Hey Steve,
    Am looking forward to hearing how that goes!

    Best, M.

  2. Tyler Payne
    September 5, 2009 at 11:26 pm

    I just took the plunge. Snow Leopard on my Hackintosh runs just as stable as my leopard install was, maybe better. Life Hacker’s bootloader guide is what I used to get up and running. Only kext I had to add after the guide was the 64bit VoodooHDA.kext for my ALC888 sound.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

