Home > backup, hackintosh, operating system, Uncategorized > Hackintosh – The Next Generation Part 1

Hackintosh – The Next Generation Part 1

The last few days have been spent experimenting with the newest method of installing Mac OS 10.5 on non-Apple hardware. This is achieved using a boot CD called Boot132. The basic idea is that the CD starts the boot process and loads Darwin and the modified kernel extensions necessary to get Mac OS working with standard PC hardware. Once these are loaded you choose the media you wish to continue booting from, which can be the install DVD or a hard drive. Boot132 can be used on a CD or a USB flash drive, but I used the burn to CD method for simplicity.

My previous installation was from a Kalyway DVD, updated through to 10.5.5 with individual updates. This has worked for several months with a few minor issues, so there wasn’t an urgent need for a fresh install. The main reason was the ability to use software update to install the Mac OS point updates when installing using the Boot132/retail DVD method. I also hoped there would be a fix for the slow USB flash drive write speeds I have been experiencing. The theory is that the closer we can get to a standard Macintosh install, the fewer problem we experience in general use and upgrades.

My hardware is fairly standard for a hackintosh system. An Intel Core 2 Quad 6600 on a Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3R with 4Gb of PC800 ram. The video card during the first install was a Sparkle Nvidia 7300GT, chosen for it’s use in Mac Pro’s. This week I finally upgraded to a Palit Nvidia 9800GT. The 7300 was perfectly capable of running Mac OS 10.5 Leopard and the occasional game, but I have recently been dual booting into Windows XP to try some newer games and the card was nowhere near powerful enough for this. Even games like Half Life Episode 2 were jerky, where Half Life 2 and Episode 1 has been ok. The decision to go for the 9800GT was not simple, but there were many reports of it working great under Leopard and Windows XP would be no problem at all. I picked up the Palit card from Scan.co.uk for £90.40 including delivery.

Before starting the fresh install experimenting I swapped the 7300GT for the new 9800GT in my existing install. Everything still worked fine and System Profiler showed Core Image was hardware accelerated and Quartz Extreme was supported. I had tried Call of Duty 4 on the hackintosh using the 7300GT and it was barely playable at 1280×800 and low detail. With the 9800GT it was smooth at 1680×1050 and everything maxed out.

I’ve detailed my hard drive setup before but here’s a summary before I go into the fresh install.

  • 500Gb SATA drive with the main 10.5 install
  • 120Gb SATA drive with one Windows XP partition, used for gaming and testing Windows software.
  • 1Tb SATA drive split into two partitions. The first is a bootable mirror of the main 10.5 install. I use Carbon Copy Cloner or SuperDuper to make regular backups to this drive. The second partition is used for Time Machine.

This setup gives me quite a lot of data security. I was concerned about wiping the 500Gb drive to do a fresh install so ended up unplugging all the above listed drives and installing to a spare 60Gb SATA drive. Once that was working I copied the install to the freshly erased 500Gb drive so I had two copies of my data for as long as possible.

In part 2 I will look at the steps of the Boot132 install, including the sources of all the software I used with the retail Leopard DVD.

  1. MG
    February 13, 2012 at 5:19 pm

    I am not able to launch Call of Duty 4 on my Hackintosh. Did you have any issues? I know some people have been able to run only the multiplayer mode, not the single player mode.

    Any info would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

