Home > gps, money > Tomtom tries new way to fleece customers

Tomtom tries new way to fleece customers

Looks like Tomtom is the latest company to jump on the subscription bandwagon. Rather than buy an updated map once a year or so you can now subscribe and get four updates a year. The Tomtom HOME software offers updates for as little as £9.95 a quarter, but when I looked at the offer the price jumped to £59.70 as I have to buy the latest map first. There’s just a few of problems with this.

  1. I bought my Tomtom Go 720 six months ago. Shouldn’t a GPS device include a years updates to maps, then a yearly fee to keep up to date? I can understand safety cash generators camera’s and traffic announcements being paid for add-ons, but maps? That’s an expensive joke.
  2. My device came with a latest map guarantee that has never worked. When I enter the code into the Tomtom HOME software I get a message that the ‘Promotion code does not exist or promotion has ended’. I bought a new current model TomTom GPS unit from a UK retailer and I’m expected to start paying for new maps after a couple of months. That’s called a rip off.
  3. The subscription service isn’t saving you any money. Until very recently the Tomtom map of Western Europe was priced around £60, the same cost as the subscription service after I pay for the new map. Buying the new map outright has risen to £80. When quality Sat Nav’s are dropping in price all the time it can’t be that far off when it becomes cheaper to throw it away and buy a new one.
Categories: gps, money Tags: , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

