Home > hackintosh, operating system, software > 10.5.5 on hackintosh

10.5.5 on hackintosh

My hackintosh is now upgraded to 10.5.5 and all seems to be working well. As shown in the image above, 10.5.5 comes with a new kernel 9.5.0. Video appears to be working fine as well, with Core Image and Quartz Extreme shown as Hardware accelerated and Supported.

As before I tested the 10.5.5 update on my usb test drive before installing on my main partition. The Software Update method fails just as it always has before on my system, so the 10.5.5 package has to be downloaded from Apple.com. Using that will also cause a crash during installation unless I follow netkas’ guide to installing 10.5.2/10.5.3. It works just as well on 10.5.5 and requires a short command in a terminal window to remove a kernel extention as it is installed.

Sleep seems to be working correctly as it has in the past couple of updates, though my SMB shares have still not appeared in the Finder sidebar. Maybe Snow Leopard will fix that one.

UPDATE I hadn’t noticed that my sound output and input were not working after the update, but dropping ALCinject.kext and AppleHDA.kext from my backup drive into kext helper fixed that in 30 seconds and a reboot.

  1. nelter
    September 23, 2008 at 2:39 pm

    smb fix:
    sudo rm /System/Library/Filesystems/afpfs.fs
    sudo ln -s /System/Library/Filesystems/AppleShare/afpfs.kext /System/Library/Filesystems/afpfs.f

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

