Home > gps > Tomtom V8 gallery and changes

Tomtom V8 gallery and changes

A couple of months ago I bought a Tomtom Go 720. The GPS unit comes with maps of Western Europe, which was great for my recent trips to Italy and Spain. Using the Tomtom home application it’s easy to download map corrections and software updates, which brings me to the reason for this article. After several minor updates to the version 7 software the Go 720 came with, the latest update has installed version 8.010.

There aren’t a huge amount of changes in the new version, and cosmetically there’s been little more than a polish. The strong black shadows of V7 have been toned down and a few icons are replaced but that’s about it.

Main Menu 1 version 7

Main Menu 1 version 8

There’s a Tomtom support page that details the features of the new software version, at http://www.tomtom.com/6141. The link came from the notes in Tomtom home for the update:

Version 8.010
(TomTom GO 530/730/930, ONE 30-Series, XL 30-Series, ONE XL, ONE XL HD Traffic, ONE 3rd edition only)

  • Map Share support for Australia and New Zealand
  • USA Fuel Prices
  • TomTom HD Traffic Receiver support for devices listed above
    Services available via HD Traffic Receiver:

    • HD Traffic (requires subscription)
    • Buddies
    • Weather
    • Weekly Safety Camera Updates (requires subscription)
    • QuickGPSFix
  • TomTom RDS-TMC Receiver (USB) support for GO 530/730/930
  • Minor improvements

That needs updating, it doesn’t even show the 520/720/920 as being compatible. Not much in the way of new features, and it doesn’t even mention the one addition I have found. On Preferences screen 3 there’s a new icon for show lane images.

Pressing this gets a message that the map I am using is not compatible with lane guidance. So what map is?

I searched Tomtom.com trying to find information on what maps are compatible with this feature, and found no direct information. I guessed V8 maps would be required so had a look at map updates for the latest Go 730, which shows version 8.05 maps in the store. The latest maps available to buy for the Go 720 are version 7.20. Does this mean I have a feature on my GPS that I can’t use? This brings me to my biggest complaint.

When you buy a Tomtom GPS unit you get a 30 day Latest Map Guarantee. This means if the maps are updated within 30 days of registering the unit, you get a free update. If you’re out of these 30 days, you have to pay. To update my version 715 maps to version 720 will cost me £50. Why do Tomtom not give one year of free updates with the unit? This seems like just another method of extracting as much cash as possible from customers.

The Go 720 came with a code to enter for the Latest Map Guarantee and a free safety camera update. When I entered the code into Tomtom home the software said it wasn’t eligible, so I never got the updates. Maybe Tomtom need to start concentrating on giving their customers a good service rather than milking it for all it’s worth.

That’s the rant over, below are the screenshots I took of the version 8.010 software for those thinking of buying a discounted Go 720 or the new Go 730. The black border has been added to make the screenshots clearer.

Categories: gps Tags: , , , , , , , ,
  1. August 13, 2008 at 6:25 pm

    I just bought a tomtom go 720 a month ago but it was always hanged when I used in my car. I called the shop where I bought that tomtom go. He said that I have to download software version 8.010 to solve my problem. How to download the software?

  2. basshead
    August 13, 2008 at 9:20 pm

    If it hangs when you use it then it isn’t working correctly and should be replaced or repaired by the store you bought it from. The information you want is in the manual.

  3. Piet de Bruin
    March 19, 2009 at 5:42 pm

    One of my favourite functions disappeared when my software was upgraded to 8.300 Could you please direct me to a way to restore my “FM to your car stereo” function under “Play instructions using this speaker” under “Speaker pereferences” This is a new unit bought and upgraded for the first time.
    Regards,
    Thanks.

  4. Royce Simar
    May 8, 2009 at 11:39 am

    Upgraded my 720 now my LG vx 8350 won’t pair up.Contacted TomTom was told phone was not compatible.Seems like every time you upgrade some feature is removed.Bought this unit because of this feature now I’M told I can’t use it.And by the way look up the list of compatible phones and the 8350 is compatible for hands free calling.Worked before upgrade.That’s two features removed since I bought this unit.The first one was the voice activation feature

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

