Home > hackintosh, macintosh, network, operating system, software > 10.5.4 released – hackintosh update

10.5.4 released – hackintosh update

10.5.4 has now been released and is currently running on my hackintosh. The final release is build 9E17, and comes with a new kernel v9.4. This probably means sleep won’t work until Kalyway or one of the other hackers releases a patched kernel (I haven’t had a chance to try sleep yet). Here’s the steps I took to get it installed.

  1. Tested the 10.5.4 installer package (NOT software update) on my external USB test drive. This has very little software installed and serves only as a tester for software updates. NVKush was previously installed after the 10.5.3 update to get hardware accelerated Core Image and Quartz Extreme working, and the modified RealtekR1000 driver/IONetworkingFamily Fix. Following netkas’ instructions for updating to 10.5.2/10.5.3 worked fine, and booting after the update didn’t take any longer than normal.
  2. Backed up my hard drive using SuperDuper.
  3. Applied the 10.5.4 update package to the main drive. Netkas’ instructions stated to modify the file /System/InstallAtStartup/scripts/1 after installation and before restarting, but I couldn’t find it. Everything seems to be working fine, Video acceleration is still in place, and other Macs are appearing in the Finder sidebar so my networking hasn’t been modified.
  4. The Security Update 2008-004 doesn’t appear to be needed following the 10.5.4 update, and says there are no suitable volumes available.

My Macbook updated fine from Software Update (as expected) but still doesn’t see SMB shares in the network section or Finder Sidebar. I’ll update with more info if I experience any more graphical gliches with quick view.

UPDATE I’ve just tried sleep a few times on the hackintosh and it appears to be working fine with the stock 9.4 kernel. Surprised me, but fewer modifications and patches is always better.

  1. July 1, 2008 at 7:33 pm

    It’s good to hear 10.5.4 updates so smoothly, as 10.5.3 apparently had it’s fair share of issues. I’ll probably try it after I get a backup drive. One thing I might note is that you might want to check your router or switch to see if it’s causing the problem with your shares. I’ve found that some of my routers drop random SMB or Bonjour zero-config-ish networking packets causing discovery problems. Your MacBook auto-crossovers ethernet cables so you can try plugging them directly into your Hackintosh and see if the problem persists.

  2. basshead
    July 2, 2008 at 11:53 am

    My macbook and hackintosh are seeing each other fine now, the problem is only with both of them seeing SMB shares. I will try some other switches and hubs as you suggest (all my wired computers are connected to a Netgear 8 port gigabit switch, this connects to a Netgear wireless router). The problem is present on the Macbook regardless of network connection (wired or wireless) so I don’t think it’s related to hackintosh hardware/OSx. I will try connecting my Synology server to the Macbook direct to see what happens.

  3. basshead
    July 2, 2008 at 11:58 am

    One other thing I forgot to mention is that windows machines on the same network have no problem seeing each other and the macs. Windows XP can browse my home workgroup and see the Macbook, hackintosh, other windows PC’s and the Synology Diskstation. Suggests to me that OSx is the problem, but I will still try any other fixes I can find.

  4. July 2, 2008 at 7:31 pm

    Ah I see. Network discovery sure is priceless…when it works! I’ve had to work with some Vista machines which randomly can’t discover things…argh! Good luck!

  5. Marcio
    July 18, 2008 at 9:15 pm

    Except for sleep function, my (old) AMD-ASUS K8V hackintosh is working as well as I could not expect… Wonderful.

    I will never, ever, more use that Win(crap)dows (hasta la) Vista.

    Thanks God, and comunity.

  6. Alan
    September 10, 2008 at 6:59 pm

    I just heard about Hackintosh and I’m extremely interested in giving it a try. I’m very hardware savvy and have a spare PC clone which uses an AMD Athlon 1800+ with 1 GB of RAM and the usual pieces and parts. I also have an HP laptop with an Intel Centrino and 2 GB of memory. Both are candidates for upgrade (I’ve had it up to here with Windows). I have read a few postings but I really don’t know where to start. Most of the articles I’ve read so far want me to start with a new motherboard and case and I’m not really interested in that. Yes, I can build a new PC from scratch for about $200 or so (almost with my eyes closed) but I’d rather experiment on these the existing AMD desktop and HP laptop first.

    Can somebody please tell me where to start and point me to he best articles on the web for this upgrade? Any warnings in advance? Any major “gotcha” to watch for?

    Thanks

  7. basshead
    September 10, 2008 at 8:03 pm

    Best bet is to search insanelymac.com and see if someone has used the same hardware for a hackintosh.

  8. rieddu
    October 1, 2008 at 1:01 am

    Hi, just a response to Alan’s message.

    An AMD XP processor won’t cut it I am afraid.

    I am not really that hardware savvy, but I upgraded from a XP 2000+ processor in order to get Mac OS running. A new computer, yes.

    The key thing is SSE2/SSE3 capabilty. Otherwise, the software won’t work. Installing a new hard drive and installing Mac OS there is usually a good step. I dual boot through the BIOS bootloader option screen. Ugly, but it gets the job done. I had no joy with Windows / Linux bootloaders … maybe someone can take up the baton if they know of a solution.

    Shame about the AMD processor. Despite their age, this is the only thing it ever failed me on.

    I hope my comments help those who might fall at the same hurdle I fell upon. =)

    Rieddu

  9. Mandeep Singh
    October 10, 2008 at 6:49 am

    I have downloaded a version of mac os but when i try to boot from dvd it restarts before doing anything, can anything be done?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

