Hackintosh part 10

When I completed the build and testing of my hackintosh I still had plans for some future updates to the hardware. 2Gb of Ram is fine for general use but gets used up fast if you start running windows in a virtual machine as well as Mail, Firefox, Graphic Converter and several other apps. I’ve now added another 2Gb of PC800 Kingston ram of the same spec as the original, and it’s working fine. System Profiler reports four banks of 1Gb PC800 ram and no problems. I can now allocate 1Gb of Ram to a virtual machine without slowing down the rest of the system.

In my hackintosh disaster recover articles I used an external USB hard drive to make a bootable backup of my 500Gb internal drive. The cost of 1Tb drives has steadily fallen to under £100 so my second upgrade was adding a 1Tb Samsung Spinpoint hard drive to the system. I used Aria again for the order, and paid £96.29 including VAT. This drive has been partitioned into two equal parts (465Gb each) with one as a bootable backup of the main drive and the other for Time Machine. I did a fresh kalyway 10.5.2 install onto the backup drive and tested it was bootable before using Superduper to clone my existing drive to it. I set Time Machine to ignore a couple of my working folders and the Desktop since that hosts a lot of temporary files. It automatically ignored the Backup partition I’m guessing as it was on the same drive. I set it off to backup 200Gb of data, which took around two hours to finish. Much has been written about the Time Machine interface so I won’t repeat it here, just mention that it’s very slick and easy to use.

The final upgrade for now is a replacement for the occasionally problematic Plextor Px755SA DVDrw. I have suffered with this becoming inaccessible to the system after burning a disc, so was looking to try another drive. Pioneer have a cheap SATA model, the DVR-215, which currently costs around £16 so I ordered one to try. I removed the Plextor unit and fitted the Pioneer, then burned a Disc using iTunes. All went well until I tried to eject the disc. The drive disappeared just like the Plextor had, and was inaccessible until the computer was restarted. A second try with iTunes had no problem burning a CDr and ejecting it, and Toast burnt a DVD-r with no issues. I’ll do a bit of searching on this one, as I initially thought the Plextor drive was being flaky. Looks like the problem may be a bit more Leopard/hackintosh based.

  1. Kelly Baker
    July 8, 2008 at 7:43 pm

    I was wondering if you could elaborate on the technique you used to install Leopard on your Hackintosh. Did you use the retail method, Kalyway or other? I know there are many methods as well as many kernals etc and was just curious about yours. Perhaps you could write a part 11 in the series detailing this. If you could share links and references that would be great as well. I have a very similar Hackintosh and would like to compare experiences. I have a Gigabyte GA-EP35-DS4, Yorkshire Quad 2.5GHz Q9300 clocked at 3.3GHz, 8GB GSkill DDR2 1066 RAM, ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro, Antec Nine Hundred Black Case, EVGA GeForce 8800 GT 512MB and Dual SAMSUNG 22X DVD Burners SATA SH-S223F. It was all working fine at 10.5.2 until I upgraded to 10.5.3. I can restart and sleep but I can’t shutdown.

  2. basshead
    July 9, 2008 at 7:46 pm

    My initial install was using the kalyway 10.5.1 disk. Since I kept my hardware close to proven working (and close to genuine mac hardware) the install was straightforward with little patching required, just the audio. The kalyway 10.5.2 update was followed by kalyway 10.5.3. Up to this point I had used stock kernels, but i tried the patched kalyway 9.3 kernel which got sleep working. Before this shutdown and restart were fine but sleep hadn’t worked.
    As far as I know there hasn’t been a kalyway 10.5.4 release yet, so I tried the standard 10.5.4 update (downloaded, not software update) following the instructions I covered in an article. This worked fine, non of the graphical problems I had with 10.5.3, and the stock 9.4 kernel works great with shutdown/reboot/sleep doing what they should.
    There’s a kalyway kernels installer for 10.5.3 that may help with your problem, it can be found at the normal sites.

  3. Kelly Baker
    July 10, 2008 at 5:48 am

    How about your BIOS settings. Would it be possible to take a few snapshots of your settings to see what you’ve selected? I’m going to experiment with modbin’s patched 9.4 kernel to see if it improves.

  4. Steve
    July 22, 2009 at 8:58 pm

    hi, Just wanted to know what type of Video card can I use for a Hackintosh Computer?

    I have credit at http://www.epartsandmore.com

    and my motherboard can use a “2 x PCI Express x 16 slot for discrete graphics card”

    My motherboard is a
    ASUS MOTHERBOARD P5W-DH DELUXE 975X 775 DIGITAL HOME

    please get back and thanks!

    Steve

  5. July 22, 2009 at 8:59 pm

    ohh, forgot to tell you I would like to add 1gig of video PCI express.

    Thanks! 🙂

    steve

  1. June 14, 2009 at 9:23 am

Leave a Reply

