Home > computer, storage > Samsung 500Gb 2.5 inch hard drive

Samsung 500Gb 2.5 inch hard drive

Some things,  mainly the ones we don’t have to physically handle, benefit from being made smaller. The Samsung Spinpoint M6 is a 500Gb 5400rpm hard drive in a 9.5mm high 2.5 inch case. That means if I wanted I could have a 500Gb hard drive in my Macbook for $299, if I lived in the US. Not sure when these are hitting the UK or how they will be priced (am I being cynical thinking it won’t be £150?)

Categories: computer, storage Tags: , ,
  1. lotus49
    June 28, 2008 at 10:10 pm

    Your cynicism is well-founded but in this case you are wrong. You can buy them on eBay for 150 quid now. The (user upgraded) 250GB HDD on my MacBook Pro is almost full so I am looking at buying a couple of these (one for the machine and the other for my full bootable Super Duper! backup).

    I am only put off by the price. I may muddle on for another couple of months in the hope that the price drops a bit.

  2. basshead
    June 29, 2008 at 11:05 am

    You can get them on ebay now for £150, but considering this article was written almost three months ago I think it was pretty accurate at the time. I’ve been trying to find an American price for comparison but have so far failed to find any US companies that have these in stock.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

