Home > apple, computer, hackintosh, macintosh > Macs are easy?

Macs are easy?

NetworkApple products have had a reputation for ease of use for a long time, but I’m starting to think this has gone seriously awry with Leopard. Up to the release of 10.5 I didn’t have a problem operating Macs on a mixed Mac and Windows network. Leopard brought the promise of automatic discovery and display of network shares in the Finder sidebar. I think I mentioned this before, but it worked for half an hour then disappeared. I’ve spent several hours yesterday and today trying to figure out what is going wrong with this, and got to the point where my Macbook and Hackintosh were both visible to each other. The Macbook could connect to the Hackintosh shares, but not the other way round. Add to this the problems I had when upgrading my Macbook to 10.5.2 where the wireless access points became unconnectable and there’s some serious networking issues with Leopard. Does anyone have a fix for this?

  1. Anthony
    March 9, 2008 at 5:28 pm

    First off, I agree with you leopard certainly has issues on the Mac/PC front, however blaming leopard for your troubles between your hacintosh and macbook are unfair….its not Apple’s fault.

    A great resource is http://macwindows.com/ I have used it to solve most of my problems in a Mac/Windows networking related world.

    I have had so much trouble with bonjour/rendezvous/zeroconf for years. When it works, there is nothing you have to do…the problem is when it does not work there is very little you CAN do. HOWEVER, the problem is almost always in the network hardware itself or the drivers. This is do in no small part to the different ways these zero configuration protocols are implemented since the zeroconf standards were not published until 2005.

    Are you using the R1000 kext, the actual realtek driver, or something else? I have had problems with the actual realtek driver, the r1000(available on sourceforge) works much better with that.

  2. basshead
    March 9, 2008 at 5:59 pm

    As far as I am concerned blaming Leopard for networking issues is entirely fair when Leopard is the cause. If you read my earlier comments on the 10.5.2 update you will see that I had a Macbook that had no issues connecting to Belkin and Benq wireless access points. Immediately after the 10.5.2 update the Macbook could no longer see the Belkin access point and could not connect to the Benq one. Since the only thing that changed was the 10.5.2 update what else could have caused the problem? I always make a bootable backup before major upgrades so the Macbook was restored to the 10.5.1 backup. Wireless networking once again worked perfectly. How is that not a Leopard 10.5.2 issue? Hundreds of users in Mac forums have had flaky networking on hardware that worked fine under Tiger. 10.5 and 10.5.1 were OK on my macbook but I couldn’t see local shares. I was hoping 10.5.2 would fix this since the problem is widely reported, but it made wireless networking a lot worse.

    While I agree blaming Leopard for an issue with a Hackintosh would be unfair, it’s not only the hackintosh that has the problem since neither the Macbook or Hackintosh can see Windows shares or my Synology NAS unless I point them at the IP address.

    Arguments about zeroconf standards being published in 2005 are fairly redundant. It’s now 2008, my router and gigabit switch were bought new in the past three months and leopard is a new OS. Surely a 2005 standard should work by now? I’ve stripped the network so there’s nothing on it but a macbook, hackintosh, switch and router. Still no improvement.

    Network shares ‘just appearing’ in the finder sidebar was one of the 300+ new features of leopard. A windows PC can see the NAS just fine, and also see other Windows shares. I never had Tiger network issues, even when using Tiger on a hackintosh. Leopard networking so far has been flaky and unreliable on both my macs. Since the last OS was solid why is the new one worse in this regard? That’s just unacceptable.

  3. Angus Lovit
    July 2, 2008 at 9:14 am

    AMEN. 10.5.4 still has not solved this problem for me.

  4. jeff corbett
    July 31, 2008 at 7:47 pm

    to the first poster.

    you have HACKINTOSH or a pc. this is your first problem. HACK systems or HACKED os of any kind will never work like it does in its original context.

  5. October 1, 2014 at 5:02 am

    Valuable information. Lucky me I discovered your site by chance,
    and I am surprised why this accident did not happened earlier!
    I bookmarked it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

