Home > apple, bug, software > ‘Shared’ drives still missing in 10.5.2

‘Shared’ drives still missing in 10.5.2

Finder SharedOne of irritations of Leopard since it was released last year was the shared computers list in the Finder sidebar. Not that it’s an irritating feature since it stopped the requirement of connecting to servers to access them. The irritation is that it doesn’t work. The shared section on my macbook lasted around an hour after I first installed Leopard, and has been AWOL ever since. I’ve scoured the net for any method of restoring this feature with no joy. Other Macs show up if they are using AFP, but anything SMB (that’s windows and my Synology Diskstation) are missing. I’ve disabled Little snitch and the Leopard firewall. Deleted the smb.conf file so a new one was generated. I even followed these instructions to change the DNS lookup order. 10.5.2. was my last hope of seeing this fixed, but after many ‘no known issue’ builds there’s still an issue. Maybe this one is being saved for 10.5.3?

Categories: apple, bug, software Tags: , , , ,
  1. sueMo
    March 26, 2008 at 12:57 pm

    I have the same exact problem. I remember seeing the network places come up when I first set up my brand new macbook, and since then, like you, AWOL. I’ve scoured as well and haven’t found anything helpful. Was wondering if you’ve come across anything or contacted Apple.

    Thanks!

  2. basshead
    March 27, 2008 at 8:39 pm

    I have had no success at all with this problem. I spent days searching the web for hints or fixes and tried every suggestion I found. I believe this is one of those problems that will exist until Apple fixes it in a Leopard update. Fingers crossed for 10.5.3?

  3. zero
    May 24, 2008 at 1:56 am

    I have had this problem for months intermitedly. Usually my shared computers show up sooner or later…but they haven’t for a few hours now…and I’m getting pissed off.

  4. Ian
    February 2, 2009 at 1:09 am

    I am also experiencing the same problem described above. The Shared dropdown sidebar option showed up when I had first setup my home network (which comprised of a desktop computer with Windows Vista designating a folder to be shared with all permissions and auto detection enabled). On the next day, the Shared dropdown sidebar option was no longer visible. I’ve scoured the web but have found no solution to this problem! It’s driving me insane.

  5. lspringster
    January 11, 2010 at 3:24 am

    ya…anybody found the solution to that?… m gonna quit mac soon cos of that.. and my whole office employing 200 ppl too.

  6. February 24, 2010 at 7:22 am

    I am very glad I found your website on myspace. Thank you for the sensible critique. Me and my neighbour were just preparing to do some research about this. I am happy to see such great info being shared freely out there.
    Best Regards,
    Abe from Virginia Beach city

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

