Home > operating system, software > 10.6.6 on Hackintosh

10.6.6 on Hackintosh

Mac OS 10.6.6 has been out for a couple of days now, and I have successfully updated my main hackintosh to this release. The previous 10.6.5 release had required the addition of “pmVersion=21″ to the kernel flags section of my com.apple.Boot.plist file, but this latest update required no further modifications.

I haven’t found any problems with this release on my hardware. System updates always take a little longer on my hardware since I make a full bootable (and tested) backup before every major change, but that’s a good idea on Apple hardware as well since problems after updates are not unheard of.

  1. Rhys Wiffen
    January 9, 2011 at 9:09 pm | #1

    Hi, I am running 10.6.5 on my Acer Aspire one ZG5 (of which i followed your guide to install 10.6) and after numerous attempts to install 10.6.6, I find that i have no working USB. I thought a way to get around this would be to make the permissions on IOUSBFamily.kext so that the system can only read. Do you think this would work? If not, any other fixes? I have also backed up the current working USB kexts.

    Many thanks, Rhys.

  2. David
    January 10, 2011 at 6:03 am | #2

    Hi, I am runing Snow Leopard 10.6 (i have never update it) on my Acer Aspire One ZG5 How Can i Update to 10.6.6?
    Everything that Help me :)

  3. Rhys Wiffen
    January 10, 2011 at 11:46 pm | #3

    Me again,

    I kinda went into a reckless mode and did what I explained, and it worked! It replaced my com.apple.Boot.plist (I used multibeast) So all I really needed to do was to re edit things like cpus=2 and things.

    Rhys

  4. Marijn
    January 12, 2011 at 8:54 pm | #4

    Rhys Wiffen :
    Me again,
    I kinda went into a reckless mode and did what I explained, and it worked! It replaced my com.apple.Boot.plist (I used multibeast) So all I really needed to do was to re edit things like cpus=2 and things.
    Rhys

    Can you tell me this method? I’m not really daring to take the leap of faith. Can you also share your kexts with me? I just had 10.6 installed yesterday an I immediately updated to 10.6.5 with the kexts of 10.6. Most things that I use work, but it always can do better. Also need a new DHTD.aml file (or something) Old one let me hit a key when booting. Was annoying.

    Thanks in Advance

    Marijn
    Netherlands

  5. David
    January 13, 2011 at 12:32 am | #5

    Ok Rhys Wiffen

    can you help me with a Small Tutorial or something like that
    so i can Update my Acer Aspire One ZG5 Snow Leopard from 10.6 (never updated) to 10.6.6

    Everything that can Help me Thanks :)

  6. thedukefanatic
    January 17, 2011 at 11:51 pm | #6

    I would like to know about your set up for the backup Hackintosh HD. Can you boot from the HD? Is by USB, eSATA or FW? I ask cause I need set up a back up for pre install of any update. I’m tired of having to do multiple complete reinstalls with every update.

  7. Rhys Wiffen
    January 20, 2011 at 8:21 pm | #7

    *********BEARING IN MIND THAT THIS HAS ONLY BEEN DONE ON MY ZG5**********
    *********DONT HOLD ME LIABLE IF ANYTHING GOES WRONG.***********************
    *********IF YOU GET A KERNEL PANIC THEN MAYBE I COULD HELP YOU OUT :D*****

    Okay guys:

    If your on 10.6 (no updates) you will want to press Command (Alt on the ZG5)+ Shift + G and then type the following:
    /Extra/Extensions/

    What you will now want to do is find the kexts ‘IOUSBCompositeDriver.kext’ ‘IOUSBFamily.kext’ ‘IOUSBHIDDriver.kext’ ‘IOUSBHIDDriverSafeBoot.kext’ ‘IOUSBMassStorageClass.kext’ ‘IOUSBUserClient.kext’ and select them all (hold Alt then click each one).

    when they are selected right click on them and click on ‘Get Info’ Either a box should open for all of them or one should. either way scroll down on them and click the little lock on the bottom right hand corner. Authenticate and you should now see the box to your right is not greyed out.

    now you click the little ‘+’ and add administrators (or your account) and when it is in the box it might go to read only. If it does then just change it to Read/Write.

    If your ready to take the leap then head across to Software Update and go for it!

  8. Mike
    February 20, 2011 at 7:35 am | #8

    I am missing something from the above message.

    My present hackintosh is running under 10.6.2. I have attempted several times to update to 10.6.6 as the install of the xcode ide (for iphone development) rejects the present os.

    Each time I get a message of “Kernal Panic” with something about a mismatch in os versions.

    I have been using the update from the mach install to upgrade directly. What can I do to get around this?

    In the worst case scenario, forget the old vbox setup and start anew with a download of 10.6.6 from somewhere? Does anybody know where I can get a bit torrent of 10.6.6? Which would also require downloading the xcode ide into a new hackintosh. Argh!!

  9. tvguy
    February 25, 2011 at 8:47 pm | #9

    I am running 10.6.5 and went for the upgrade to 10.6.6 and all was well. On the first reboot I get a kernal panic. Couldn’t figure it out. I ran NBI 8.5PRE and it still didn’t work. Any thoughts?

    Do I need to disable anything before the upgrade.
    I used the 10.6.6 combo updater from the Apple site.

    Thanks
    Tvguy

  10. Javier
    March 21, 2011 at 2:55 pm | #10

    I have a motherboard EVGA SR2 whit snow leopard OS 10.6 , does not work USB … I can do … thanks

  11. tvguy
    June 26, 2011 at 7:53 pm | #11

    I am having the same issue. I have tried to update from 10.6.5 to 10.6.6 several times and I always get a Kernal Panic. I have tried all of the NBI’s and nothing is working…

    HELP

    tvguy :
    I am running 10.6.5 and went for the upgrade to 10.6.6 and all was well. On the first reboot I get a kernal panic. Couldn’t figure it out. I ran NBI 8.5PRE and it still didn’t work. Any thoughts?
    Do I need to disable anything before the upgrade.
    I used the 10.6.6 combo updater from the Apple site.
    Thanks
    Tvguy

  1. April 20, 2014 at 7:17 am | #1

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 62 other followers

