Archive

Archive for November 3, 2008

New Windows 7 Taskbar unlocked

November 3, 2008 Leave a comment

An article on withinwindows.com has revealed today that the new Windows 7 taskbar is included in the PDC build. The steps involved (and a small program to run) are listed on the site, and I had a try this afternoon and can confirm that it works. It appears the new taskbar is not quite as advanced as the one shown, but it works. The first instruction didn’t work for me so I had to take ownership of explorer.exe through the GUI, but apart from that everything went as described. The gallery below shows the new taskbar in action (running in VMware fusion) so I will do a native install when I get time and take some more screenshots to see what the Aero interface does to improve appearances. Read more…